Part Merge ActionThis article provides information on the Part Merge action and how it can be used to combine two Part records.Sep 30, 2026Article
InformationTitlePart Merge ActionContentContentThe Part Merge action will allow you to combine two part records while selecting the information from each record you want to keep. This will allow you to keep one of those Part records while deleting the other from your database. This action can be useful if you have duplicate records created for the same part. This merge will maintain the historical information of the part, while allowing you to clean up your digital inventory. Potential duplicate Parts in your database can be found by running the Duplicate Parts report under My Reports > Inventory. Please note that access to the Part Merge action depends on the following criteria, Part Merge is currently a license based feature. If you have questions regarding access to Part Merge please reach out to us at Support@mvpone.com.For Enterprise Sites, if your Enterprise controls the editing and creating of Part Records then Part Merge can only be accessed from your Enterprise site by Enterprise Admins. Steps to Merge Parts Selecting Parts Select one Part and use Action > Merge to begin the Part Merge process. This will open up the Part Merge menu and allow you to select a second part to combine with. If the grey down arrow next to the secondary Part ID field is selected, it will populate recommended potential duplicates. These recommendations are based on parts that have similar Descriptions, Part Types, Part Classes, MFR Part IDs, and Vendor Part IDs. OR Those users with access to Batch Edit can select two Parts using the checkboxes on the left hand side of the page. Then select Action> Merge. This will open up the Part Merge menu with both part records displayed. Merging Parts Once multiple parts have been selected, users can select the Primary Record and the Part ID that will remain. Please note that the Part ID that is not selected will be deleted permanently. However, all Part and Transaction history will be kept in the Primary record. As can be seen in the image below, field values can be selected from either Part record. This will save those values and bring them over to the Primary Record once the Merge is completed. Therefore in this example, the values for Expense and Notes will be saved and merged to the Primary Record. All other values will remain the same in the Primary record, since the boxes for those fields are selected. Select OK to complete the Part Merge. If the Non-Primary Part Record has any Stock Information the following message will appear notifying the User. This notification is designed to notify Users and allow them to physically move the Parts in the Stockroom of their facility, or manually adjust the MVP Stock information before the Merge is completed. After the Merge, Stock Information will be moved over to the Primary Part. If the non-primary part and the primary part have stock in the same Warehouse and Stock Location, their QTY will be combined. Please note that when a part is merged the following information will update and merge together into the Primary Part ID: Any selected Part fieldsHistorical Part TransactionsStock InformationReplenishment InformationPart SubstitutesSpare Part List InformationPurchasing InformationEstimated Part InformationPart List Information Navigation History Please note that a site's MVP One licensing tier must be Elite or Enterprise, in order to have access to the Part Merge feature. URL NamePart-Merge